We are pioneers

Almost 60% of our vineyard areas are growing new, robust grape varieties with natural resistance to fungal attack. Our pioneer wines are officially called fungus-resistant grape varieties (Piwis). They are children of European traditional varieties and robust wild vines – and they are not only convincing in the vineyard and in the glass, their names also have a ring to them:

With them, we need up to 80% less crop treatment products, use less fuel, avoid soil compaction and save time… time we prefer to spend on more innovative projects.

 

Many years ago, we made our dream come true and took over the Wohlgemuth winery with vineyards in prime Rheinhessen sites such as the Westhofener Morstein and the Gundersheimer Höllenbrand. We have retained the freedom of thought of lateral entrants to this day. This inner independence allows us to live a traditional craft with our own quality philosophy and at the same time also to go new ways as winemakers.

We are preservers

We became preservers when a historical mention of the almost forgotten white grape variety “Early Red Malvasia” aroused our curiosity. Since then in our care, this more than 500 year old grape variety – which, by the way, was already loved by Martin Luther – continues to actively write its living piece of wine history with us with more than one hectare of cultivation area.

Out of passion for good wines, however, our love also goes to the traditional German and international grape varieties: the noble Riesling, complex Pinot Noirs, lively Pinot Gris and soft Chardonnay wines, and of course, the fascinating Scheurebe.

Wir sind Pioniere

Auf bald 60% unserer Weinbergsflächen wachsen neue, robuste Rebsorten – sogenannte pilzwiderstandsfähige Rebsorten (Piwis) – mit natürlicher Widerstandskraft gegen Pilzbefall. Diese Pionierweine sind Kinder europäischer Traditionssorten und robuster Wildreben – und sie überzeugen nicht nur im Weinberg und im Glas, auch ihre Namen haben Klang:

Mit ihnen benötigen wir bis zu 80% weniger Pflanzenbehandlungsmittel, verbrauchen weniger Treibstoff, vermeiden Bodenverdichtungen und sparen Zeit… Zeit die wir lieber in weitere innovative Genussprojekte stecken.

Vor vielen Jahren haben wir unseren Traum wahr gemacht und das Weingut Wohlgemuth mit Weinbergen in rheinhessischen Top-Lagen wie dem Westhofener Morstein und dem Gundersheimer Höllenbrand übernommen. Die gedankliche Freiheit von Quereinsteigern haben wir uns bis heute bewahrt. Diese innere Unabhängigkeit erlaubt uns, mit eigener Qualitätsphilosophie ein Traditionshandwerk zu leben und gleichzeitig als Winzer auch neue Wege zu gehen.

Wir sind Bewahrer

Zu Bewahrern wurden wir, als eine historische Erwähnung der nahezu vergessenen weißen Rebsorte „Früher roter Malvasier“ unsere Neugierde weckte. Seitdem bei uns in Obhut, schreibt diese weit über 500 Jahre alte Rebsorte – die übrigens schon Martin Luther liebte – bei uns mit über einem Hektar Anbaufläche ihr lebendiges Stück Weingeschichte aktiv weiter.

Aus Leidenschaft für gute Weine gilt unsere Liebe aber auch den deutschen und internationalen Traditionsrebsorten: dem edlen Riesling, komplexen Spätburgundern, lebendigen Grauburgundern und geschmeidigen Chardonnay-Weinen und natürlich dem Rheinhessen schlechthin, der faszinierenden Scheurebe.